The 7 chakras are the 7 wheels of energy in our body. Blocked energy in any of the 7 chakras may lead to illness. That is why it is essential to understand what every chakra represents and how to keep the energy flowing freely.

In case you didn’t know, I absolutely love working with the chakras. I have been studying them since 2006, and as an energy healer, they are part of my daily life.

Please note, I am now offering Kinesiology Chakra Balances (online or in-person). During the session, we will identify your blocked chakras and apply specific techniques to clear, recharge, and balance them. When the chakras as balanced, we feel more aligned, energised and at peace.

By learning how to work with the chakras, we can take healing back into our own hands.


What are they?

A chakra is an energy center in our body in which energy flows through. The word ‘chakra’ is derived from the Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’.

A chakra is like a  powerhouse of spinning energy. Within our bodies, you have seven of these major energy centers and many more minor ones.

You can think of chakras as powerful, invisible, rechargeable batteries.

Creative Kinesiology chakras

How Do They Work and Why are They Important?

Chakras regulate the flow of energy throughout the electrical network that runs through the physical body. The body’s electrical system resembles the wiring in a house.

If the body’s energy system can’t flow freely it is likely that problems will occur. This may result in physical illness and discomfort or a sense of feeling out of balance.

Sometimes chakras become blocked because of stress, emotional or physical problems. Unprocessed trauma and trapped emotions could also be the cause.

Benefits of working with the chakras:

  • Increased energy and vitality.
  • Increased self-awareness.
  • Improved relationships.
  • Increased self-worth and self-confidence.
  • Increased creativity, joy, ease, and flow.
  • More abundance and bliss.

Your 7 Chakras in a Nutshell

1. Base/Root Chakra 

Stability, Security, Grounding

The color of this chakra is associated with the colour red. It sits at the base of the spine. It is naturally associated with the element earth.

You will feel supported, a sense of connection and safety to the physical world, and grounded, if this chakra is working optimally.

Emotional imbalances: 
Feeling worried about basic survival needs like money, work, food, and shelter. Anxiety, fear, and not feeling safe. Trauma and shock are often stored in this chakra.

Extra Support:
Connect with your bodyspend time in nature, walk barefoot on the grass, and do some exercise!  Watch this magnificent free documentary about the benefits of “Earthing” here.

2. Sacral Chakra 

Creativity, Pleasure, Spontaneous, Joy &  Zest for Life

Its colour is orange and it is located between the base of your spine and your navel. It’s also called the sexual chakra. This chakra represents sensuality, pleasure, money, procreation, and creativity.

You will feel passionate, creative, abundant, sensual, and able to enjoy intimacy in your life if this chakra is optimally balanced.

Emotional imbalances:
You find it difficult to enjoy sex, have fun, express our emotions, and connect with people. Fears around impotence and betrayal.

Extra Support:
Acknowledge your dreams and desires, communicate your needs more clearly, have strong boundaries (download my FREE workshop on boundaries here), have more fun, and release sexual guilt.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra 

Will Power, Self-Control, Self Acceptance

Its colour is yellow or gold, and it is located just above the navel. This chakra relates to our self-esteem and confidence.

If this chakra is balanced, you feel optimistic, assertive, calm, and confident. 

Emotional imbalances:
Issues of anger, frustration, lack of direction, feeling victimised, lack of self-worth and personal power, fear of criticism, and rejection.

Extra Support:
Go forth and control your own destiny and happiness – you deserve it! Have strong boundaries (download my FREE workshop on boundaries here), do something courageous every day (even if it’s small), spend some time in the sun, and laugh more often.

4. Heart Chakra

Love & Relationship, Emotional Balance, Acceptance

Its colour is green and is located in the heart/chest area. This chakra relates to self-love, love for others and our ability to give and receive.

You will feel joy, compassion, love, gratitude, and peace if this chakra is optimally balanced.

Emotional imbalances:
Issues of heart, anger, betrayal, jealousy, bitterness, frustration, a broken heart, and fear of loneliness.

Extra Support:
Forgiveness of self and others, gratitude practices, being able t0 give and receive in equal measure. Learning from, and releasing the past. Inner-child work.

5. Throat Chakra 

Communication, Openness, Self Esteem, Manifesting, Creativity

Its colour is blue and is located in the throat area. This chakra relates to our ability to be authentic in how we show up in the world, and the way we communicate.

You will feel truthful and honest, assertive, free to articulate your thoughts, feelings, and ideas if this chakra is optimally balanced. 

Emotional imbalances:
Inability to express, communicate about things that matter to you, blocked creativity, inability to ask for what you need.

Extra Support:
Singing, chanting, and breathing exercises can enhance the health of this chakra. Ask for what you need. Express yourself. Speak your truth, sing your joy, emanate your love through the vibration of your words.

6. Third Eye Chakra 

Clarity In Thoughts, Intuition & Wisdom, Vision

The natural color of this chakra is indigo and is located between the eyebrows. This chakra relates to our intuition, being able to see our future and wisdom.

When this chakra is balanced we feel focused, clear, and can determine between truth and illusion. We are open to receiving insight and wisdom. 

Emotional imbalances:
Problems with self-reflection, moodiness, confusion, being too rigid, and the inability to acknowledge someone else’s viewpoint.

Extra Support:
Meditation, journaling, and visualisation exercises can assist the healthy flow of this chakra. Be open to your inner guidance. 

7. Crown Chakra 

Conscious Living, Awareness, Oneness, Ability to See the Bigger Picture

The natural color of this chakra is violet-white light and is located on the top of the head. This chakra relates to conscious living and experiencing more magic in our lives. 

When this chakra is balanced, we live in the present moment. We have an unshakeable trust in God/the Divine and our inner guidance. 

Emotional imbalances:
Feeling lost and without direction or purpose. Anxiety, fear, depression, constant dissatisfaction, and confusion.

Extra Support:
Meditation, prayer, and to make time to connect to God or the Divine. Open your eyes to new things and experiences – it’s time to live a magical life!

I truly hope you enjoyed reading about these amazing energy centers in your body that are responsible for your health and wellbeing.

The first step is to create more self-awareness around your charkas. Get to know their colours and meaning and notice when they are feeling out of balance.

Please note, I am now offering Kinesiology Chakra Balances (online or in-person). During the session, we will identify your blocked chakras and apply specific techniques to clear, recharge, and balance them. When the chakras as balanced, we feel more aligned, energised and at peace.

Sounds good? 

Email me today to book a session. A session is between 60 – 90 min.

Thank you for being part of this amazing journey – you are loved and appreciated.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Love & Blessings,

Hulda Ludbrook